top of page

REP-RE-SEN-TA-TION: Say It



Representation

(n) /ˌrɛprɪzɛnˈteɪʃ(ə)n/


The action of speaking or acting on behalf of someone or the state of being so represented.



Hi Lovelies


These past few weeks have been interesting, to say the least. I have been engaging with a multitude of different things and people and have seen several changes in my life, all of which, have been positive in their outcome. One of which was working at the Forbes Africa Leading Women's Summit. Now, if you have stuck around long enough, then you know that a girlie is one for the ladies and equity of the sexes is important to me. Y ou would also know that the representation of the disadvantaged in society is also very important to me. Essentially, I believe that there are clear inequalities in the world that need to be levelled to create an even playing field, but even in doing that, representation of the things that can be done amidst the adversity we face is a big step in getting to where we need to be. Which is why I found this star-studded event (that I would probably have not attended if I hadn't gotten the job) such a blessing.


Why?


Not only did I learn some valuable insights to help me become a great strategist, but I also discovered that all of the women who held crazy titles like Miss Universe 2011 - Leila Lopes, who I never imagined would face adversity, did face hurdles that they overcame, found a way to balance their masculine and feminine energies and built empires. All of these things are things your resident girlie is trying to do. During my degree, I have felt so overwhelmed by not being able to see - to some degree - what I am creating for myself. All because it is still in the works. This event helped calm that and made me realize I am on the right track to where I want to be.


DJ Zinhle (of whom I am a huge fan), spoke at the event about her adversity and difficulty chasing her passion. She brought her daughter too which I loved. She spoke about how people she'd expected have supported her turned her back on her and it really struck a chord within. She won the Forbes Woman Africa Entertainer Award for 2020. As the #1 DJ in Africa. THE IMPACT.


The impact. It trickles down to the girlies and guysies like you and me who want to go out and be great in the world. To be able to see yourself within such an impactful individual the way I saw parts of myself in Bonang and Zinhle and Lira yesterday was impactful on myself. In all raw honesty, it made me feel like I was on the right track. To be in the same room as so much influence and success still has me baffled. It makes me see that things are possible for overwhelmed girlies like me. I can go out and inspire others to follow their fire just like all of these women have encouraged me to follow mine.


All in all, representation is a powerful tool. It's an empowering tool. It helps young people feel as if their dreams are valid, and if they chase them, not only do they work towards closing the divide I mentioned before, they inspire others.


I hope this serves you,

Much love,

T




6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page