top of page

The Self Care Diaries: Self Compassion

Updated: Nov 19, 2020




Hi my loves


Welcome back to the blog, it's been so so long and it feels so good to be back. I'm writing this post within true self-care. My feel-good Beyonce playlist is on, I have plenty of snacks waiting, and I have my tea ready.


Today I wanted to start something new on the blog, The Self Care Diaries. With each entry, I'll be chatting on my growth on a self-love topic and documenting my journey whilst practising self-care. And so today, you have your first episode.


To get into it, we're chatting all things self-compassion and the 3 standout lessons that I've learnt from leaning into seld compassion over self-comparison or self-criticism, which were basically my default settings in the face of rejection.



 

Self Compassion Bears Confidence:


Self-compassion has allowed me the ability to comfort myself after I’ve been triggered and offer myself a degree of care, without dependence on another individual and it is a big achievement for me in terms of my own emotional development. It has allowed me to trust myself more and develop my ability to take accountability for my things. My self-compassion also allows me confidence in knowing that whatever may happen, I will be okay.


Self Compassion Makes You Focus on Yourself (As You Should, Mind Your Business):


Rejection taught me how to become compassionate towards myself.


I think its something I’m always reminded of as well when I am rejected. Compassion for myself is the choice not to criticise my action when I know I tried my absolute best in the situation or things beyond my own control caused things to go downhill. Sometimes, actually most times, I don’t have full clarity on why things didn’t work out. Leaning into compassion for myself in this scenario means that I acknowledge that. It’s okay. I did the best I could with what I had at the moment, and it didn’t work out because it probably was not meant to. This doesn’t necessarily stop me from feeling upset that it didn’t work out but helps me work with my inner child (homegirl does not like rejection and is somewhat of a perfectionist) to understand that maybe this wasn’t meant for me, as much as I may have wanted it. That’s okay. Turning inwards helps me move on faster.


Self Compassion is Self Soothing


Rejection for me is a trigger of sorts and I think that after something like this happens it’s important to do some sort of emotional soothing so I don’t spiral. Being compassionate with my inner child makes me look at the reasons why certain emotions and feelings come up in certain scenarios and I guess helps me understand my reactions better. This part of self-soothing is insightful and helps me grow out of bad coping mechanisms better.


 

These thoughts are more detailed but for a more personal version along with my week you can watch Weekly Roundup Week 44 here:


 

Thank you for taking the time out to spend with me today here on Studios HQ. As per the introduction to my new series, and as a token of appreciation, I offer a playlist for you to stream during your self-care regimen. I hope you like it, I hope you have fun. Stay safe, and I'll catch you later xxx




Connect ⚡


Let's be friends 🤎

Tik Tok: @theresidentgirlie


Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page